Brimstone by Preston and Child

Brimstone is the fifth novel in the Pendergast series by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. If you find yourself interested already, the first book is Relic, followed by the immediate sequel Reliquery.

Behind the gates of a fabulous Hamptons estate, FBI Special Agent Pendergast comes upon the carnage of a gruesome crime: one that recalls the legendary horrors that befall those who make a Faustian pact with the devil. Surrounded by the choking stench of brimstone, the smoldering remains of art critic Jeremy Grove are found in a locked, barricaded attic next to a hoofprint singed into the floorboards.

Unable to resist a case that defies all but supernatural logic, Pendergast reunites with police officers Vincent D’Agosta (Relic) and Laura Hayward (Reliquary) to search for a more earthly explanation. But their investigation soon takes them from the luxury estates of Long Island and penthouses of New York City to the crumbling, legend-shrouded castles of the Italian countryside, where thirty years ago four men conjured up something unspeakable. . .

Summary taken from Goodreads

Brimstone was an interesting addition to the Pendergast series. In this novel, more and more personal facts and information about Agent Pendergast are revealed, more than any previous books. In this novel, Pendergast’s odd family becomes a larger part of the story, including a family member who is probably more dangerous than any other villain Pendergast has faced before.

We also get to a return from some old favorites, Vincent D’Agosta and Laura Hayward, two police officer featured in previous novels of the Pendergast series. Vincent, once again, become Pendergast’s right-hand man as they race against time to solve a mystery that could have far-reaching consequences.

The interesting thing about this series, is that the title character, Pendergast himself, is rarely the POV character. In fact, more and more of the character is revealed through each novel through the eyes of his fellow characters, sometimes characters that don’t appear in every novel. The reader gets to gather all of this information and paint a larger picture of who Pendergast is, but the other characters don’t always have the same view of Pendergast as the reader would. Which of course is common, but in this series, it is even more pronounced and adds an intriguing element to the series.

I would suggest starting with Relic if you have yet to pick up the series, but if you have read it, I urge you to continue, because as far as I’m concerned, the series gets better with each subsequent novel.

Give it a read! And let me know what you think!

*Originally posted on previous blog on April 10, 2019

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s